top of page

If you're growing your hair, you need to read this.

Updated: Mar 21, 2021

Here's a little bit of science for you.

There's three parts to the hair growth cycle- the growing stage, the stopping stage, and the falling out stage.

The first stage, Anagen, is the part where your hair can grown for 2-7 years. This is different for every single person, and can change throughout our lives (hormones/ diet/ stress/ medication etc).

In the Catagen phase, the hair stops growing and becomes dormant. It then goes in to the Telogen phase, where the hair falls out, and a new one comes through.

It's important to emphasise that the Telogen stage is nothing to worry about. We have thousands of hairs on our head, all at different stages of the growth cycle, so this natural process should go completely unnoticed.

For optimum hair growth, your hair needs to be in the growing stage for the longest amount of time possible. You can support your hair by having a healthy balanced diet rich in protein, using products such as Olaplex to help support the internal structure of the hair, and regular trims to stop split ends from traveling up the hair shaft.

We hope you enjoyed our mini science lesson!


109 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page